seven dimensions of wellness
Family,  Gratitude,  Healthy Living,  Journaling,  Mindfulness,  Self Development,  self-care

The 7 Dimensions of Wellness

Affiliate Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

Some of the links below are affiliate links meaning that at no additional cost to you, I will earn a commission if you purchase something using the link. Read the full disclaimer policy here.

When it comes to wellness, there are many definitions and areas to consider. Some
people think more about your physical body, like nutrition and exercise, while others use
it as a broader term for all areas of health. According to the co-founder of the National
Wellness Institute, Dr. Bill Hettler, there are actually 7 dimensions of wellness.


The first dimension of health and wellness is your physical health, which is probably
what you tend to think about first. This includes eating right and focusing on good
nutrition, making sure you get good quality sleep and exercising on a regular basis. It
can also include things like protecting yourself with seat belts and helmets, visiting the
doctor for checkups, and paying attention to symptoms of any illnesses you might have.


There is also emotional health as well as your mental health. It is really important to
take good care of your emotional health, from seeing a therapist if you struggle with
mental disorders, to working on reducing your stress levels. For your emotional
wellness, look for support if and when you need it, improve your work-life balance, and
try to find fulfillment with optimism and expressing gratitude.


Don’t forget about your intellectual dimension of wellness! This is where you continue
with education, read more books, take classes, and keep learning and growing.
Education and intellect is not just important in school and college, but far beyond that.
You should always be looking to learn and expand your knowledge.


Social aspects of your wellness are a lot more important than you might think. This
includes nurturing your friendships and relationships, being more involved in your
community, attending social events, and working on improving your communication


Spiritual doesn’t have to be religion, so don’t worry if you don’t follow a particular type of
religion. Your spiritual wellness is about what you believe in, whether it is a high power,
or just your own core beliefs and values. This can be achieved by reading more spiritual
books, meditating, and spending time in nature.


There is also environmental, which for you can mean whatever environment you live in,
including your home and workplace. Take good care of the environment where you
spend your time, like decluttering your office, not leaving mail all over your desk,
cleaning regularly, and recycling when you can.


Lastly, there is your occupational dimension of wellness. If you feel like you are settling
for the job you have, but don’t find passion in it, do something else! Work to improve
your skills, be open to change in your work environment, and look beyond what is
expected of you to find something you truly love.

Loving Life — The Reboot!


The 7 Dimensions of Wellness

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: